La Dolfina Win 118th Argentine Open Championship Final

La Dolfina Team proved too strong against the newly formed Ellerstina team, as they recaptured the title on Friday 9 December 2011, in a 16-10 victory over Ellerstina in Palermo, Buenos Aires, Argentina. The Argentine Open Championship is the most prestigious polo championship in the world.

La Dolfina Polo team 2011 was made up of: Adolfo Cambiaso (founder and 10 handicap), Pablo McDonough ( 10 handicap), David Stirling ( 9 handicap and Juan Martin Nero (10 handicap) – the 10 handicap being the highest professional scoring in polo, for a player.



La Dolfina dominated the throw-ins and controlled the ball early on, limiting Ellerstina to just a pair of penalty goals in the first three chukkers. La Dolfina displayed a strong team defense that limited Ellerstina’s shots on goal and had them struggling for a goals from the field. Penalties were also the bane of the young Ellerstina team as they gave up seven goals from fouls.

Adolfo Cambiaso led all scoring with nine goals and was named MVP for his efforts. Nero scored three times and MacDonough and Stirling scored two goals apiece.

La Dolfina Polo Team has been sponsored by La Dolfina, Dubai Polo, Audi and Four Seasons Buenos Aires.